Environmental Innovation Awards

On Thursday, October 25, 2018 the Seneca Park Zoo Society will host the inaugural Environmental Innovation Awards & Symposium to recognize organizations and community members by honoring the inspiring stories of local and regional conservation and environmental efforts. Join us for a breakfast awards ceremony, followed by an Innovation Symposium led by renowned green design expert Bill Browning.

The Environmental Innovation Awards celebrate leadership in environmental stewardship, raising the profile of innovative companies and people working to solve complex environmental problems in the Rochester and Finger Lakes Region.

Recognizing Excellence

The Rochester and Finger Lakes Region is coming alive with innovation and innovators working to create solutions to current environmental issues. Leaders throughout our region are building a more sustainable future by implementing zero waste practices, leading renewable energy efforts, creating advanced green technology and infrastructure, and driving efforts in conservation education.

Awards will be given in five categories including:

  • Youth
  • Individual
  • Civic & Nonprofit
  • Small Business
  • Large Business

Nominees must have regional efforts in at least one of the nine counties of the Finger Lakes Region (Monroe, Ontario, Wayne, Livingston, Genesee, Orleans, Wyoming, Yates, Seneca) to qualify for an award.

Individuals, organizations and companies can be nominated by a third party or may self-nominate. Nominations will be accepted starting August 6.

Schedule of Events

• 7:15 a.m. | Registration & Networking
• 8 a.m. | Welcome & Awards
• 9:30 a.m. | Symposium featuring Bill Browning – “Business Innovation Inspired by Nature”


• $40 – Breakfast & Awards only (7:15 – 9 a.m.)
• $60 – Breakfast, Awards & Symposium (7:15 – 11 a.m.)
• Tables are available for purchase. Please contact Heather Rossi, Events Manager, at 585.295.7388 or hrossi@senecazoo.org to arrange.

Click here to view our sponsorship opportunities.

Any excess proceeds from this event will go towards conservation programs and zero waste efforts at Seneca Park Zoo Society.

To ensure your seat, please purchase tickets by 12 p.m. noon on Friday, October 19.

Nominations for the 2018 Environmental Innovation Awards are now closed.

Bill Browning, Terrapin Bright Green

We’re pleased to welcome and feature Bill Browning, one of the green building industry’s foremost strategists and leading thinkers in sustainable design solutions. Browning’s expertise has been sought by Fortune 500 companies, leading universities, nonprofits, the U.S. military, and foreign governments. His career highlights (so far!) include the greening of the White House, National Aquarium, Disney Hong Kong, the Sydney 2000 Olympic Village, and more. Find out more at terrapinbrightgreen.com.

Mr. Browning will give a brief keynote at the awards ceremony and will be the featured speaker at the Innovation Symposium immediately following the breakfast, where he will share his insights on creating a built environment inspired by nature.

Read Bill’s full bio here.

Bill Browning
Bill Browning

Symposium | Business Innovation Inspired by Nature

Immediately following the Environmental Innovation Awards, an Innovation Symposium will be held from 9:15 – 10:45 a.m. to encourage dialogue and collaboration between guests and local and national experts on conservationism and environmentalism. Bill Browning will facilitate the discussion and motivate the audience to action.

Environmental Leadership Awards Event Committee

The Seneca Park Zoo Society engages a diverse, community-conscious Event Committee in supporting the Environmental Innovation Awards & Symposium. Their participation in the Environmental Innovation Awards Event Committee ensures its integrity and success.

Thank you to our Event Committee members:

  • Suzanne Hunt, HuntGreen LLC
  • Jim Armstrong, Good for Business (B Corp)
  • Andrew Brady, Conscious Capitalism, ROC City Coalition
  • Rebecca Delaney Johnson, The Cause Collaborative
  • Todd Liebert, CEO, Clark Patterson Lee
  • Kate McArdle, New York State Pollution Prevention Institute
  • Kevin Nowack, VP, DGA Builders
  • Pamela Reed Sanchez, President and CEO, Seneca Park Zoo Society
  • Amy Reichhart, Environmental Attorney, Nixon Peabody
  • Meg Walbaum, RIT
  • Dr. Jeff Wyatt, Environmental Justice Advocate

Sponsorship Opportunities Available

A partnership between the Seneca Park Zoo Society’s Environmental Innovation Awards & Symposium and your organization puts you in front of a forward-thinking and engaged regional audience seeking sustainable solutions. Your sponsorship also assists Seneca Park Zoo in inspiring our community to connect, care for, and conserve wildlife and wild places.

By organizing and hosting an Environmental Innovation Awards & Symposium event, the Seneca Park Zoo Society will showcase the stories of local and regional conservation and environmental efforts. In raising awareness of organizations and like-minded community members, a platform is created to educate, engage, and lead education and conservation efforts.

Click here to view our sponsorship opportunities.

Please contact Heather Rossi, Events Manager, for more information on sponsorships at 585.295.7388 or hrossi@senecazoo.org.

Date: Thursday, October 25, 2018
Time: 7:15 – 11 a.m.

Joseph A. Floreano Rochester Riverside Convention Center
123 E Main St., Rochester, NY 14604

Sponsored by

Clark Patterson Lee Logo

CMI logo

RIT logo

Diamond Packaging